Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

Skull Fragments – A review

Less is more, is what author Michael Arnzen inscribed in my copy of Bone Fragments. Indeed, it is, and in this case also an understatement.  Originally appearing in 100 Jolts: Shockingly Short Stories, Bone Fragments is divided into 12 micro stories about skulls.  Yet skulls are almost incedental. In 200 words or less for each section, Mike manages to create real characters, real situations and most of all real shock. A very quick read that will haunt long after you put the chapbook down.

June 6, 2009 - Posted by | Reviews

4 Comments »

  1. Mike gave me a blurb two years ago for If Truth Dies. “Janrae Frank is inconoclastically cool.”

    I loved it.

    He’s a good guy and an excellent author

    Comment by cussedness | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Agreed. Someone asked me why my review was so short, and I had to explain that it was my lame attempt to keep in the spirit of his book. Of course that works better once you’ve read it.

    Comment by raingods | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Arnzen is brilliant.

    Comment by Mike Brendan | June 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. He’s also an all-around nice guy, from what I can tell, given my limited dealings with him.

    Comment by Rusty | June 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

