Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

A bit more on Uncle Forry

when I was a kid, there was a 7-11 about a block from my house. It was where we went if we were out of milk, Dad needed smokes (before he quit in ’76 that is), and where I bought my comics and my Famous Monsters of Filmland.  My two goals at that young age were to have my picture in FMoF and to go on Wonderama.  

Sadly, neither happened, as both ceased production at roughly the same time. However, Forry’s love of monsters and horror movies (and his groan inducing puns) shaped me, molded my tastes. He gave me an appreciation for the classics from Universal, Val Lewton’s movies (which today are still creepy as hell), and of course Hammer movies. To be fair, my Mom and I would watch the Hammer movies every Sunday at 3 PM. 

These were my early influences. As the years rolled on, Fangoria, Stephen King, T.M. Wright, Clive Barker, Peter Straub and John Irving picked up the mantle of my imagination.  They were all storytellers of untold talent; something Forry appreciated, and definitely what whetted my appetite for horror. Well, Irving isn’t a horror writer, but his characters come alive in a way few people can manage, and even his lesser works are still heads and tails above other works. I’ll refer you to The World According to Garp, Hotel New New Hampshire, Cider House Rules and A Prayer for Owen Meany as examples.

An icon is gone. Yet, his influence, infectious affection, and puns will forever remain. And for that I am grateful.

December 6, 2008 - Posted by | My Life |

1 Comment »

  1. I can’t ascertain today just how much Famous Monsters of Filmland influenced my early creative development, but the fact that more than 75 percent of my fiction is horror-based is no accident. The thing is, the magazine was in its heyday when I was in elementary school –  and I have fond memories of picking up the latest copy and taking it to school with me to read in class. Moreover, at least one of my teachers would temporarily confiscate it – not because he was outraged that I was bringing the material into his classroom. He would wordlessly appropriate it upon noticing it, assign a lesson and return to his desk and read it from cover to cover.

    How could I take that as anything but encouragement?

    Forry – and several others, such as Dick Bennick, aka Dr. Paul Bearer, host of Tampa Bay’s Creature Feature – served the same purpose, awakening in me a love for all things grim and gloomy, frightening and fearful, weird and wonderful.

    Comment by Lee Clark Zumpe | December 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

