Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

Happy Thanksgiving from 30+ years ago

As I was sitting here reflecting on things I’m grateful for, I got an email from someone I went to school with.

Elementary school. Yup, that’s not a typo, I said elementary school. That time of my life when my age was smaller than my shoe size. Nothing quite brings up memories than an email out of nowhere, and this was no exception. I was watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving day Parade, as I’ve done my entire life, thinking about some of the other things my family used to do. Rarely did we have Turkey day at home, it was usually at a relative’s or friend’s home. My grandmother’s mostly up until she passed in ’78 or ’79’; Pat and Jack’s (whose sone Chris was my first sexual experience) every couple of years. Chris and I were allowed to drink COld Duck with dinner. Probably why I haven’t liked red wine since; My Uncle Herbie, My Uncle Al, or my Aunt Eileen the other years.

Odd to think, they’ve all passed away now. Even Pat. Jack is alive, but has Alzheimer’s and Chris and his partner are living in the same house he grew up in. The paneling in the basement is the same as it was when I last visited in the late 80’s, according to Chris. There were many times we went to my godparent’s house, Muriel and Johnny O’Gorman. They too are deceased. 

I loved watching Laurel and Hardy’s Babes in Toyland, which I remember being shown on or around Thanksgiving time. The crisp multi colored leaves that crunched under foot. Brisk, verging on cold air, slapping at my skin. And the smells. I will forever remember the smells of turkey, pumpkin pie, stuffing and gravy, that wafted from whatever kitchen was consigned to do the cooking. the laughter, the drinking, the cigarette smoke. All of it I keep fondly, in that file of the past i like to check out every now and then.

when we were all younger, alive, and most of all together.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

November 27, 2008 - Posted by | My Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

