Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

Orgrimmar attacked, then mail disappears

In what can’t be considered a good sign, Blizzard’s weekly maintenance yesterday, scheduled until 11 AM PST, was extended until 8PM PST. Mail for the last 15 days went missing, PVP gear was being given away, there were some glitches on different classes, all one day before the expansion comes out. 

I’m a new wow player, started back in April of this year, so I wasn’t around for the first expansion. I have heard from fellow guild members who were there for TBC release, all the problems that occurred. It was ugly. Servers up and down, lag, queues…much like it’s been the past few weeks. I’ve gotten very frustrated, as I’m trying to hit 68 asap to get to Northrend, and already at 64. Yet what would have made me say screw it in other games, one thing keeps me going.

Blizzard knows how to tell a story. when I made a weekly run to Orgrimmar to AH some items, the city was under attack by ice dragons and abominations. All the major Horde leaders were in town; and in some inspired fanboy service, Thrall and Garrosh Hellscream were fighting in an Arena. for those of us who have played WC since the first game, seeing lore unfold before your eyes is an inspiring, and goose bump raising moment. 

So in spite of not being able to log on at all yesterday, I’m eager to see what happens next. Lich King gets a midnight release tonight, and while I won’t be at one, I’ll be up first thing in the morning banging on a box store door for my death knight.

Good thing I took the day off.

November 12, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I had a good time at Stormwind City when we heard that the area was about to be attacked by the hordes of the Lich King. Dracoliches and abominations that looked like undead ogres were all over the docks and up into the nearby streets.

    When one of the members of my Guild let out that it was going to happen, we all headed over there and bashed monsters. It was nice having gotten to lvl 40 in time to have some hit power and what not.

    The only downside was the lags. It kept hanging up when I would order a skill used and then it would explode and three or four of them would go off at once.

    Comment by cussedness | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] Reader Emil J. wrote in to tell us about a message WoW-Europe displayed when they looked at the account upgrade page.It states that in the future, Blizzard intends to switch over from World of Warcraft accounts to a centralized account .. More […]

    Pingback by » Orgrimmar attacked, then mail disappears « Raingod’s Weblog | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’ve got some shots from Orgrimmar, I’ll have to put up. I had a great time taking down the abominations. Once you get to a certain level, it’s a lot more fun to enjoy the events that’ve been happening.

    Comment by raingods | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. I also expect that with the expansion coming out, it’ll be a rough ride for a few days. My hope is that with all the down time since patch 3.0.2, it won’t be as bad as it could be, but I’m bracing myself. good thing I’ve got King’s new collection to keep me occupied for any downtime.

    Comment by raingods | November 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

