Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

Why I WoW

It began innocently. I’d finished playing The Witcher, and was looking for a new game. Browsing through itunes for some new podcasts, I came across The Instance, a podcast devoted to World of Warcraft. I listened and loved the show. Scott Johnson and cohost Randy Deluxe are as enthusiastic a pair of hosts as you could imagine. It was infectious, really. I’d played the previous RTS warcraft games, and enjoyed them, but balked at spending 15 bucks a month for a game. I downloaded the 10 say trial, and got hooked. When Scott and Randy started talking about the AIE guild, I was intrigued, and checked it out.

It didn’t take long to join the guild, beome a regular on the forums, and immerse myself in the world of Azeroth. My Blood Elf Hunter, Kharisi, and his trusty Gorilla sidekick Bobo, travel the world, seeking gold and adventure.  In spite of being in the largest US guild, I rarely quest with anyone, have only done one instance, and listen in to the ventrilo chat more than I talk. The grinding for the next level can be tiring. The world so big, I never know where to go next. Once I hit level 30, I got my mount that made travelling much easier. Sure it’s a big chicken looking thing, but it’s faster than walking. Besides, my blood elf looks awesome on it.

For an hour or two every night, and more on the weekends, I lose myself in quests, the auction house, avoiding zombies, and traveling. I’ve met some great people through the guild, and know if I ever need help, someone is always willing to help me.

It’s not perfect, nothing is, but for all its flaws, I keep coming back, because I have fun. I don’t watch a lot of tv, and this is my entertainment, my stress reliever. And many times, guild chat, is my comic relief.

I enjoy my time there, and don’t regret a moment of it. There’s always something new to see, someplace to discover, and always, always, some zombies to kill.

October 26, 2008 - Posted by | My Life | , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. I have been enjoying playing also. Despite my not always blissful situations concerning other players, I am enjoying it a lot.

    Comment by cussedness | October 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. I absolutely loathe the subscription business model, but I have to wholeheartedly agree that WoW is a lot more fun than zoning out in front of the TV. Glad you’re enjoying yourself!

    Comment by Tesh | October 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. Tesh, I agree, I hate the subscription model, mostly because aside from WoW, so far, there’s really nothing worth a monthly fee, game wise. i really do enjoy it, and I have to say, I took off 11/13 to play Lich King!

    Comment by raingods | October 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. how often does it go down like it is today for an upgrade?

    I was in Darkshire last night when the apparition charged through. Judiciously, I shot at it instead of encountering it hand to hand like some did. A bunch of players were waiting for it. This was my third encounter with it, a 32 lvl undead ogre.

    First two it clobbered me before I knew what it was. Third time, I spotted it and followed at a distance. It noticed me and I ran, then returned to following and got there in time for the battle.

    Comment by cussedness | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. They do maintenance every Tuesday. Sometimes for 15 minutes, other times for a few hours; but it’s every tuesday AM like clockwork. I’ll be heading into that area this weekend to get to the blasted lands so I can get to the dark portal. I’ll be 58 by this weekend! Dinged 56 last night.

    Comment by raingods | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. I’m 3/4 of the way to lvl 30. There are a lot of terms I don’t understand. What is a ‘tank’?

    Comment by cussedness | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. Tank is used to refer to who’s going to be the heavy hitter against a boss. Generally, it’s a warrior, paladin; someone with high health and strength.

    Comment by raingods | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  8. I guess that Todd is a tank then. Adem and I spent several hours last night grinding gnolls, not so much for points as for loot. Adem is a paladin and we beat the shit out of them. It was fun, because doing it alone was often frustrating.

    Comment by cussedness | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  9. Isn’t a “tank” more about standing as a shield, absorbing bad guy attention and attacks, so that the DPS class (damage per second) can lay on the real damage? I’ve always seen tanks as having lower offensive capability, at the cost of much higher durability. (As opposed to the “glass cannon” Mage or something that can lay on a world of hurt, but has very little defense.)

    Comment by Tesh | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  10. Tesh,

    You’re quite right about that, I’m sure. My experience with tanks is limited. I play a huntard, what can I say? I’ve run Scarlet Monastery, and it seemed to me the tank was doing most of the damage. But it would also make sense, to have them take the damage while the DPS’s hit the mob.

    Comment by raingods | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  11. I’m a Hunter too, I’ve just studied up a bit on the mechanics. As I understand it, the Tank is there as a “meat shield” (like our Hunter pets) who has abilities to get the bad guys to focus on them instead of the defensively weaker DPS or Healer classes, regardless of how much damage is being dealt by whom. That’s why there’s a “threat” mechanic, and if the Hunter or Mage does enough damage to get the attention of the bad guy (who sees them as a higher threat than the tank), they are going to get attacked.

    That said, there’s nothing saying that a tank can’t be the prime damage dealer. I just don’t think they are necessarily designed that way, since being able to take huge damage and deal it as well would upset the balance that makes players depend on each other.

    Not that I’d mind, since I’m mainly a solo player. 😉

    Comment by Tesh | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  12. Very true. And given the massive amount of damage my gorilla does, and the abuse he can take, he’s the ultimate tank. 95% of my gameplay is solo; despite being in AIE, my hunter character is a loner by nature, but will always help if someone asks.

    If you’re on Earthen Ring and see a Belf name Kharisi, and a gorilla named Bobo, be sure to say hi.

    Comment by raingods | October 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

