Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

Goat cheese enchiladas

Best recipe for enchiladas. Ever.

Red Chile-Tomato Sauce, recipe follows
12 blue corn tortillas
Goat Cheese Filling, recipe follows
8 ounces Monterey Jack, grated
3 tablespoons chopped cilantro, for garnish
Sour cream, garnish
Chopped green onions, garnish

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Spread 1/2 cup of the Red Chile-Tomato Sauce into a medium, deep casserole.

Dip tortillas in remaining tomato-chile sauce, to lightly coat both sides. Spoon about 2 tablespoons of the Goat Cheese Filling on each tortilla, roll up. Repeat with remaining tortillas.

Arrange rolled tortillas in casserole so they fit snugly. Pour 1 1/2 cups of the remaining tomato-chile sauce over the enchiladas, and top with the grated cheese. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes or the enchiladas are heated through. Remove and sprinkle with chopped cilantro, dollop with sour cream, and garnish with chopped green onions.

 

Red Chile-Tomato Sauce:
2 ancho chilies
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 large red onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon dried Mexican oregano
1 cup dry white wine
1 (16 ounce) can plum tomatoes, pureed
2 cups homemade chicken or vegetable stock
Salt and freshly ground pepper

 

Bring 2 cups of water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add chilies, remove from heat and let sit for 30 minutes. Remove stems and seeds, place in food processor with 1/4 cup of the soaking liquid and puree until smooth.

Heat oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until soft. Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add cumin and oregano and cook for 1 minute. Add ancho puree and cook for 2 to 3 minutes. Add wine, tomatoes and stock and cook for 25 to 20 minutes or until slightly thickened. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

 

Goat Cheese Filling:
1 1/4 pound goat cheese
Goat Cheese Filling:
1 1/4 pound goat cheese
3 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
1/4 cup freshly grated pecorino Romano
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro
Salt and freshly ground pepper

 

Place goat cheese, garlic, pecorino Romano, and lime juice in a food processor and process until smooth. Season with salt and pepper, and fold in the cilantro.

August 4, 2008 - Posted by | Recipes |

24 Comments »

  1. I’m going to have to try that. Sounds great.

    Comment by rich | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. They are. I saw it on the Food Network and it gave me the craving. It’s a bit of work but worth it.

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. Part of my thinking is that anything with goatcheese in it is going to likely be good.

    BTW. Prepare for a spike of friendly traffic. Mr. NP just linked to you on his blogspot.

    Comment by rich | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  4. I was never a big goat cheese fan, but I live next door to a Mexican grocery store and they always have it pretty cheap. So when I saw this I gave it a go. I think I’m a latter day goat cheese lover now.

    I saw the link on his blog and decided not to write a blog about it yet. Rusty and everyone else does a great job handling the nitwits, the last thing I want to do is hamper their work.

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  5. I kind of liked the sweetness of goat cheese, though. I haven’t really thought of much to do with it, besides use it a green salad with a oil and vinegar. Oh, and I bet that store probably has great chorizo, too. I love chorizo in black bean soup, or even using it in chile.

    Oh, and by the way, when I said my blog was “boring” I wasn’t referring to nitwit intrigue. There literally are posts there with titles like “The History of Federal Pay raises.” And since I’m trying to finish a novel, a ton of Bermuda links.

    (Though, I’ve never posted a recipe, and now I’m tempted ….”

    All the best,

    I really need to get off the internet today. =) Novels don’t write themselves.

    Comment by rich | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  6. The chorizo is great. Lots of fresh produce as well, that most grocery stores don’t carry. I saw the Bermuda spots and need to take some time to read them. it’s one place I’ve never been and have wanted to.

    Boring can be a good thing Rich!

    I have to structure my writing time. Usually about 9 PM to 11PM is when I write. For me I find I get more ideas by the end of the day, not to mention I’m more of a night person anyway. But yeah, I need to get off the internet as well; my cat is demanding her food!

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  7. […] Tagged Chick Peas, Feta, Olive Oil, Olives, pepper, Recipes, Tomato, Vegetarian, Vinegar This is in response to Raingod’s goat cheese enchildas. […]

    Pingback by Feta Chick Pea Salad « Strange Latitudes | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  8. I like goat cheese and find it very versatile. I grew up on Tex-Mex. this is a delicious recipe btw. I had to try it.

    Comment by cussedness | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  9. I’m sure it will be great for lunch tomorrow too, if it lasts that long. Living in the Southwest for as long as I have now, I’ve developed a taste for Tex-Mex and more authentic Mexican dishes.

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  10. I can’t recall if I ever had goat cheese? Any comparisons?

    Comment by Mike Brendan | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  11. It’s kind of a cross between feta and mozzarella to me. Slightly sweet, somewhat bland. It needs other ingredients to make it stand out.

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  12. I’ll have to try that. Of course I’ll have to get out the spices to jazz it up an octave. 😀 Oddly enough, I had curry goat at a local Indian buffet for lunch.

    Comment by Mike Brendan | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  13. Definitely a good idea. I love Indian food but curry doesn’t agree with my digestive system. I’ll still eat it but I prepare for the consequences! curry goat really sounds good though.

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  14. It was a bit stringy… it may have just been that one piece. Plus it was a very mild curry. I liked the lentil and chick pea dishes better…

    Comment by Mike Brendan | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  15. omgs, that sounds absolutely amazing. Thanks for posting it Rain!

    Comment by JodiLee | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  16. JodiLee,

    You’re welcome and thanks for coming by. I’ll be posting recipes on a regular basis I think. I love to cook and love trying new recipes so if anyone has any recipes they like, post them for all of us to enjoy!

    Comment by raingods | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  17. Mexican markets are the best. We have one done the street, and the butcher is the best around (not to mention the dirt cheep prices.) Mmmm…chorizo.

    My personal favorite use of goat cheese is on an arugula salad, with dried cranberries and candied walnuts. (Dress with a mixture of one part red wine vinegar, two parts olive oil, a tablespoon or so of dejon mustard and two table spoons of sugar). It’s simple, but amazing.

    I always love it when blogs and message boards turn into recipe swaps. Then again, I spend and ungodly amount of time watching the Food Network as well.

    Adam

    Comment by adam | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  18. Hey Adam,

    That sounds good. I have some extra goat cheese I’ll use to try that one.

    I watch WAY too much of food network…I need to go back to cartoon network.

    Comment by raingods | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  19. I look forward to more recipes, Rain – I’ve got you bookmarked, linked and added to the feed! 😉

    Comment by JodiLee | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  20. Thanks Jodi, I’ve done the same for you as well. I’ve got a cheesecake recipe coming up next.

    Comment by raingods | August 5, 2008 | Reply

  21. Sovay is skinny as a rail, small boned, and delicate. And I used to have to hide a few slices when I made cheesecake because she would eat her way through one in a a day. And never gain a pound. sigh.

    Comment by cussedness | August 6, 2008 | Reply

  22. Up until 30 or so I was the same way. I could eat anything and everything and not weigh more than 140. Once I got to 30 though, that changed. Seems like just looking at something causes me to gain weight.

    Comment by raingods | August 6, 2008 | Reply

  23. A couple of years ago, I started catering Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter dinners for my parents. Having heard so many horror stories over the radio about dry or torched turkeys, I was terrified.

    As it turns out, it’s incredibly easy — no more difficult than duck. The only thing I did that might have been a little unusual was to loosen the breast skin up by the neck, and shove in some butter that I’d mashed with about 1/8 tsp. of ground sage. The fixin’s were the usual stuff: dressing, cranberry-orange compote, mashed potatoes, mashed rutabaga (yellow turnip), and glazed peas and carrots.

    I had to cook for our whole family when I was a teen in London, back in the ’70s. Basically, I sucked at it back then, but nowadays I can hold my own in the kitchen. I still can’t follow a recipe, even for baked goods, without altering something (more raisins, less baking soda), although I tend to back off the tinkering when it comes to a James Beard recipe from “Beard on Bread.”

    A previous cat of mine used to beg (he was very polite and patient about it) for Monkey Bread. That was messy to make, but fun. Cat + bread = weird, but so be it. He was such a doll. My current 17-year-old cat has a thing for tomatoes. Go figure.

    Comment by Rusty | August 6, 2008 | Reply

  24. I tinker too. I just can’t resist experimenting sometimes. My cat has a thing for peanut butter. She will all but grab a peanut butter and jelly sandwich in my hand (though she did try that once)to get the peanut butter.

    Comment by raingods | August 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

