Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

What I’ve Learned

It’s been almost three months since I’ve updated this blog. Time flies, I suppose, though I’ve been busy with my other blog, finishing up Barbed Wire Kisses, and prepping four Bandersnatch Books first release.

Rich Ristow and I have put together our own micro/small press business after months of research and seeing what works and what doesn’t. During that time, we’ve managed to get some great names to submit work, and though we only have one announcement at the moment, as well as submission guidelines for 2-3 other anthologies, there are also chapbooks on the horizon that we’ll be pleased as hell to publish.

While others natter on about the Legion, and continue to throw salt in their own self inflicted wounds, I’ve been busy doing the work. I haven’t been afraid to get my hands dirty, make some sacrifices and determine my own destiny. Wallowing in the past, refusing to accept responsibility, and blaming others is not my cup of tea. It’s not professional and it certainly accomplishes nothing. However, watching others has taught me a few things.

1: True friends know what constructive criticism is, and accept it openly.

2: Just because someone says they can do layout, doesn’t mean they can.

3: If you’re the boss, whether you think you’re wrong or not, you accept blame and shut up about it. You don’t blame writers or editors. And you certainly don’t name them in blog postings.

4: Those who spout out that they know everything about everything, generally know nothing except how to puff up their own ego.

5: 95% of problems can be solved by communication, and not petty attacks.

6: Cutting your losses can be painful or blissful-sometimes both.

7: Don’t talk about the poor pay structure of other small presses when you do the same yourself.

8: It’s always easier to point a finger at others while ignoring the reflection in the mirror.

It’s with these hard learned lessons that Rich and I embark on a new project, a new chapter, now divested of the petty drama, self indulgence, ignorance, and inflamed ego that we’ve both experienced.

November 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. And I’m with you all the way, pal. :-) True words. True words.

    Hugs

    PS — Will have the last of BWK finished today. And I’ll have it back over to you by tomorrow afternoon, luv. Oh, and if you want to skype about the edits when we’re done, that’d be just great too. :-)

    Louise xox

    Comment by Louise | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love you. No, seriously. *hugs*

    I am so happy for you and Rich. I seriously think you guys have found a niche and I know you’re going to do great!

    Comment by JodiLee | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. Thanks for your kind comments, and I have no doubt that Belfire Press will do awesome as well. What makes a business successful is cooperation and respect-something I think we all have for one another.

    It’s a shame others don’t see it that way.

    And I love you too Jodi! And you as well Louise! I’m proud to call you friends.

    Comment by raingods | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. *hugsagain*

    JUST saw the news about DIC, and I am so pleased for you and Rich and everyone on the ToC! I pretty much squee’d (sssh..don’t tell the kids, I promised to stop that) LOL

    I’m not much of a poetry person…but I can not wait to get my hands on this one. :)

    Comment by JodiLee | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. HEY FAGGOT — do you have an Anally Inflicted Death Sentence. I guess with that little remark supporting what those Nazi’s do to my books, I wonder what kind of reaction you faggots get when we take turns burning the rainbow flag. Yeah I hope you die of AIDS with that remark you little noname FUCK.

    Comment by N. Pacione | March 29, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hope you do get AIDS for that book burning remark. Burn in hell you sodomite.

    Comment by N. Pacione | March 29, 2010 | Reply

  7. I will never publish a faggot.

    Comment by N. Pacione | March 29, 2010 | Reply

  8. Nikita, can’t you even post on the blog I use? I suppose finding that out would be too much work for you, but I have hope…

    Comment by raingods | March 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

