Raingod’s Weblog

Snark spoken here

Odds N Ends

Posts have been a bit slow, as there’s not been much to write about recently. For those interested, I have pics from my mountain getaway posted over here http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2012676&id=1465911984. It was a well deserved and much needed getaway. My only complaint is it wasn’t long enough (insert dirty joke here).  It rained the first day we were there, but much sun and low temperatures the next 3 days. There are cabins to rent there that can house up to 22 people and I was thinking what a great place for a writer’s getaway sometime.  Lakeside/Pinetop is one of my favorite places in AZ, and I hope to get there more often.

While the housing market is seeing a bit of an upturn, the job market here is still sadly depressed. It’s slow going finding a job, and while I have 3 months or so left on unemployment, before applying for extended benefits, it’s looking rather grim right now. At least it gives me time for my writing, a great segue into…

Barbed Wire Kisses is coming along slowly. I had a writing spurt yesterday of 2600 words for a scene I had problems writing. It was one of the more graphic and violent scenes I’ve written, and it was hard to get through, but at least it’s done.  As I’ve said elsewhere, I’m a fairly slow writer, most days I write 1000-1500 words; I take my time and sort of edit as I go, and while it may not work for others it works for me. As a consequence it takes me awhile to finish my work, though I’m far happier with the final result than if I whip through something. I’ve done a lot of research on AZ in the late 1800′s, including mining towns, the army forts, the apache wars, etc, in an effort to add as much detail and realism as I can. In the end I’ve still taken plenty of liberties with the geography, and have no problems with that as I’ll say so on an acknowledgments page, but still, it’s been a lot of work.

My Mom has now officially the 21st Century and gotten herself a facebook page. I  swear if she gets a twitter account, I’m giving up my net access!

July 26, 2009 - Posted by | My Life

1 Comment »

  1. I am glad to hear that you are working on it. 1000-2500 words a day is a very decent rate.

    Comment by cussedness | July 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

